Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
News: Legislative Updates

Assembly, Senate Vote on Leadership

Tuesday, November 29, 2016   (0 Comments)
Share |

November 16, Hamilton Consulting


On November 10, the Senate Majority elected leadership for the upcoming 2017-18 session. Sen. Scott Fitzgerald remained Majority Leader, and Sen. Roger Roth was elected President. Other Senators elected into leadership positions include: President Pro Tempore: Sen. Howard Marklein, Assistant Majority Leader: Sen. Leah Vukmir, Majority Caucus Chair: Sen. Shelia Harsdorf, Majority Caucus Vice Chair: Sen. Van Wanggaard.


The Senate Democrats are waiting until the outcome of the Shilling/Kapanke race is finalized to hold their leadership elections.


The Assembly Majority elected their leadership for next session. Rep. Robin Vos was reelected as Speaker. Other Representatives elected include: Speaker Pro Tempore: Rep. Tyler August, Majority Leader: Rep. Jim Steineke, Assistant Majority Leader: Rep. Rob Brooks, Majority Caucus Chair: Rep. Dan Knodl, Majority Caucus Vice Chair: Rep. Romaine Quinn, Caucus Sergeant-at-Arms: Rep. Sam Kerkman, Caucus Secretary: Rep. Jessie Rodriguez.


The Assembly Minority elected their leadership yesterday, reelecting Rep. Peter Barca as Minority Leader. Other Assembly Dem leadership positions include: Assistant Minority Leader: Rep. Dianne Hesselbein, Caucus Chair: Rep. Mark Spreitzer, Caucus Vice-Chair: Rep. Steve Doyle, Caucus Secretary: Rep. Beth Meyers, Caucus Sgt. At Arms: Rep. Christine Sinicki.


Speaker Vos announced that Rep. John Nygren (R-Marinette) will continue to serve as chair of the all-important Joint Committee on Finance. Majority Leader Sen. Scott Fitzgerald announced he will keep the same Senators on JFC, with Sen. Alberta Darling serving as the co-chair. Speaker Vos has not announced the remaining Republican Assembly JFC members yet.

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal